Wednesday, August 11, 2010

So, it's Official

The people at my house don't want me to sleep...ever...

All this week Cooper hasn't taken a nap during the day. Okay whatever, I'm not a rigid scheduled type person, I don't care if he doesn't sleep during the day, EXCEPT, when he's so exhausted he falls asleep as soon as we get home. For the last two nights we haven't even finished dinner and his head starts bobbing and he's out cold. Grrrr. I want to play with him and read with him and watch scooby doo. It sucks when he goes to sleep so early. NOT TO MENTION, that it also mean he wakes up so, so very early. This morning it was at 5:15 am. He was standing in his crib yelling, "UP! UP! UP!" So I get him up and put him in bed with us. Normally he goes right back to sleep but I guess he had gotten plenty of sleep SINCE HE FELL ASLEEP BEFORE IT WAS EVEN DARK!

He gets right in my face and looks into my eyes and says "Up, mama." I'm like, "dude, it is the middle of the night!" And yes I realize some of you get up at 5:15 but anything before 7:00 am at our house is the middle of the night! He's like "UP mama! Watch Scooby Doo!" "No Cooper, go back to sleep." "WATCH SCOOBY DOO, EAT SCOOBY SNACK!" Muttering under my breath, "damn you scooby doo, damn you!" Then I say outloud, "Cooper it's still sleepy time, go back to sleep." Insert total two year old meltdown. Screaming, crying, thrashing about.

Now Craig might have been helpful on a normal day but as it was he had only went to sleep like I don't know, fifteen minutes before this whole fiasco started because he absolutely has his days and nights mixed up. Muttering again, "damn you percocet, damn you!" So anyway he lays there completely comatose while I deal with our irate child. Honestly I don't even know how this played out because I fell back asleep and eventually so did Cooper. Gah, I have awesome parenting skills. When in doubt, just roll over and go to sleep. Probably your kid won't get out of bed and do something crazy like scale a cabinet in search of scooby snacks...

Anyway you're probably thinking "well 5:15 wasn't that early why were you so sleepy anyway?" Let me enlighten you on Last Night:

The Scene: Our living room, 10:30 pm
Me: "So I guess you're not sleepy at all, huh?"
Craig: "Nope, not at all but I will go lay down with you if you're going to bed!"
Me: "No no, no, no, NO. No need for that, you go ahead and stay up..."

Ten minutes later: both of us in bed: (sigh)
Craig: "talk, talk, talking"
Me: "hmmhmmm hmmmhmm hmmmhmm"
(Then out of nowhere he slaps my butt and says),
Craig: "haha do you wish I was into weird things like spanking you?"
Me: "I wish you were into things like SLEEPING AT NIGHT!"

1 comment:

  1. PAHAHAH, OMG thats Hilarious, CRAIG seriously talked about slapping your butt....and being into weird things...I guess that was suppose to get you in the mood or something...pahaha men are sooo weird!

    ReplyDelete